Beasley, Totenberg Among LABF’s 2023 Giants of Broadcasting


The Library of American Broadcasting Foundation is set to host its annual Giants of Broadcasting & Electronic Arts luncheon and awards ceremony on November 14. Taking place at Gotham Hall in New York City, the event recognizes the lifetime achievements of key figures in the broadcasting industry.

Produced in partnership with the International Radio & Television Society Foundation, the event aims to celebrate creators, innovators, and leaders who have made significant contributions to radio and television broadcasting. Since its inception in 2003, LABF has honored more than 200 industry leaders.

The list of 2023 honorees includes:

  • Caroline Beasley, CEO of Beasley Media Group
  • Wolf Blitzer, Anchor of CNN’s The Situation Room
  • Juju Chang, Co-Anchor of ABC News’ Nightline
  • David E. Kennedy, Co-Founder & Managing Director of Aspire Ventures LLC
  • Eric Shanks, CEO & Executive Producer of FOX Sports
  • Valari Dobson Staab, Chairman of NBCUniversal Local
  • Nina Totenberg, Legal Affairs Correspondent for NPR

Additional honorees are expected to be announced shortly. The ceremony’s net proceeds will go towards preserving and expanding the Library of American Broadcasting collection, curated at the University of Maryland. A portion of the event’s proceeds will also benefit IRTS’s student training and diversity initiatives.

LABF Co-Chairs Heidi Raphael and Jack Goodman expressed their enthusiasm for the upcoming event, stating, “We are absolutely thrilled to pay tribute to and recognize these outstanding individuals for their many trailblazing contributions on behalf of the media industry and American culture.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here