Grateful Dead Podcast A Treat For “Dead Heads”


It’s called Thirty-Six From The Vault and it’s billed as the definitive overview of The Grateful Dead’s celebrated live show releases. In 1993, the band’s archivist Dick Latvala began to scour the Dead’s tapes in search of noteworthy shows worth remastering and
releasing. Through 2005, the band released 36 volumes — known as “Dick’s Picks” —  chronicling 18 of their active years as a band, and showcasing some of their best
performances ever.

The podcast is hosted by music writer and podcaster Steven Hyden (Celebration Rock, Break Stuff: The Story of Woodstock ‘99, Hard to Handle) and music journalist Rob Mitchum.

Each episode will dive into a single live release in chronological order, exploring the context
behind the release and the music that was played. The first season will be 10-12 episodes.

Go HERE to start listening.

Here’s the current episode list:
Episode 1: Dick’s Picks Vol. 1 – 12/19/73 (released 1993)
Release date: Wednesday, January 15, 2020
Episode 2: Dick’s Picks Vol. 2 – 10/31/71 (released 1995)
Release date: Wednesday, January 29, 2020
Episode 3: Dick’s Picks Vol. 3 – 5/22/77 (released 1995)
Release date: Wednesday, February 12, 2020
Episode 4: Dick’s Picks Vol. 4 – 2/13-14/70 (released 1996)
Release date: Wednesday, February 26, 2020
Episode 5: Dick’s Picks Vol. 5 – 12/26/79 (released 1996)
Release date: Wednesday, March 11, 2020


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here