Wolff To Posthumously Receive Vin Scully Award


The late sportscaster Bob Wolff, one of the most prolific and recognizable voices in sports broadcast history, has been selected as the 10th recipient of the Vin Scully Lifetime Achievement Award in Sports Broadcasting from WFUV Radio (90.7 FM), the noncommercial, member-supported public media service of Fordham University for nearly 70 years.

The award will be presented on Wednesday night, November 1, at “On the Record: A Celebration of Achievement in News and Sports Broadcasting,” a benefit for WFUV, in the Costantino Room at Fordham School of Law (150 W. 62nd Street, NYC).

The Scully Award recognizes the iconic baseball broadcaster, who last year completed his 67th and final season as “Voice of the Dodgers.” Before his passing on July 15 at age 96, Mr. Wolff had received the call from Mr. Scully, and was delighted to hear the news.

Previous Scully Award recipients include inaugural honoree Scully (2008), Dick Enberg (2009), Ernie Harwell (2010), Pat Summerall (2011), Al Michaels (2012), Bob Costas (2013), Verne Lundquist (2014), Mike “Doc” Emrick (2015), and Brent Musburger (2016).

Award-winning PBS NewsHour anchors Judy Woodruff and the late Gwen Ifill will receive the Charles Osgood for Excellence in Broadcast Journalism.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here