More Lawmakers Want Radio To Be Free


The NAB checks in again with another list of Washington lawmakers who oppose new performance royalty fees that may be imposed on radio. Ten Members of the House and two Senators have added their names to the resolution opposing any new tax or fee. The Local Radio Freedom Act now has 161 cosponsors in the House and 19 in the Senate.

Adding their support recently for the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House are Reps. Ralph Abraham (R-LA-5), Alma Adams (D-NC-12), Drew Ferguson (R-GA-3), Josh Gottheimer (D-NJ-5), Kay Granger (R-TX-12), Bill Huizenga (R-MI-2), Susie Lee (D-NV-3), Kenny Marchant (R-TX-24), Glenn Thompson (R-PA-15), and Filemon Vela (D-TX-34). Adding their support for the companion resolution in the Senate are Sens. Kevin Cramer (R-ND) and Deb Fischer (R-NE).

Reps. Kathy Castor (D-FL-14) and Michael Conaway (R-TX-11) are the principal cosponsors of the Local Radio Freedom Act in the House of Representatives (H. Con. Res. 20). Sens. John Barrasso (R-WY) and Martin Heinrich (D-NM) are the lead cosponsors of a companion resolution in the Senate (S. Con. Res. 5).


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here