Here Are The Best PDs In Country Radio

0

For the first time in many years, we experienced significant turnover on our Country PD list. As a result of the Entercom/CBS merger, Shelly Easton, who was number two on our list in 2018, is no longer in the Country format. Bruce Logan, who spent five years at KILT in Houston, left the station. Logan was number five on our list last year. And everyone remembers the sad news of WQDR/Raleigh’s Lisa McKay, who passed away just as our 2018 list was released. McKay was fourth on our 2018 Best PDs In Country Radio list.

How the Best PDs in Country are chosen:

Every PD must be nominated. If they are not nominated, they cannot be considered for our list. They can be nominated by their manager, a co-worker, a friend, their mom, a competing company, a record label, or the CEO of the company they work for. The nomination forms are very detailed, and we consider many things when we finalize the list, including longevity in the format, ratings, community service, how they manage people, etc. It has to be more than just sitting in the PD easy chair of a heritage station on cruise control. Then, over the course of several months, Radio Ink consults with a panel of country music and radio experts to establish a consensus on who should make our list. We work extra hard to be sure to include program directors from every market size. Once our list of 30 is decided, everyone votes on the order, including the 30 PDs who make the list.

Here are the Best Program Directors in Country Radio for 2019

Tim Roberts and Luke Bryan

1. Tim Roberts
VP/Music Programming
WYCD-FM/Detroit
Detroit
tim.roberts@entercom.com
40 years in radio
40 years programming Country

 

Johnny Chiang and his wife, Cherolyn, pose with Carly Pearce

2. Johnny Chiang
KKBQ/Houston
Cox Media Group
johnny.chiang@coxinc.com.
28 years in radio 
15 years programming Country 

 

 

Luke Bryan, Kenny Chesney, Rod Phillips, and Harrison

3. Gator Harrison
WSIX-FM (The Big 98)/Nashville
iHeartCountry Brand Coordinator
iHeartMedia
33 years in radio
23 years programming Country

 

Luke Combs and Mike Moore

4. Mike Moore
VP/Programming and Country Music Format Captain
Entercom 
mike.moore@entercom.com
36 years in radio
25 years programming Country

 

Jeff garrison and Jason Aldean

5. Jeff Garrison 
KCYY/San Antonio
Cox Media Group
jeff.garrison@coxinc.com
36 years in radio 
27 years programming Country

 

Luke Combs and Gregg Swedberg

6. Gregg Swedberg
KEEY-FM/Minneapolis
iHeartRadio 
40 years in radio
28 years programming Country

 

 

Kenny Jay and Darius Rucker

7. Kenny Jay
WUSN-FM/Chicago
Entercom
22 year in radio
21 years programming Country

 

 

Mac Daniels Keith Urban

8. Mac Daniels
KPLX (99.5 The Wolf) & KSCS/Dallas
Cumulus
mac.daniels@cumulus.com
43 years in radio
33 years programming Country

 

 

Garth Brooks and Charlie Cook

9. Charlie Cook
WSM-FM/Nashville
VP Country Formats
Cumulus Media
48 years in radio
40 years programming Country

 

Steve Geofferies and Cole Swindell

10. Steve Geofferies
KNIX/Phoenix
iHeartMedia
stevegeofferies@iheartmedia.com
21 years in radio
16 years programming Country 

 

Meg Stevens and Jason Aldean

11. Meg Stevens
Region Senior VP/Programming Virginia-Carolina
PD, WKKT/Charlotte
iHeartCountry Brand Coordinator
megstevens@iheartmedia.com
32 years in radio 
24 years programming Country

 

Grover Collins with Jason Aldeen

12. Grover Collins
WUBE-FM/Cincinnati
Hubbard
grover@b105.com
33 years in radio
25 years programming Country

 

Travis Daily and Miranda Lambert

13. Travis Daily 
WQYK-FM/Tampa
Beasley Media Group 
travis.daily@bbgi.com 
20 years in radio
20 years programming Country

 

Thomas Rhett and Scott Roddy

14. Scott Roddy 
WIL-FM/St. Louis
Hubbard
sroddy@hubbardradio.com 
30 years in radio
7 years programming Country

 

Kevin Callahan

15. Kevin Callahan
KSON/San Diego
Entercom
kevin.callahan@entercom.com
29 years in radio 
10 years programming Country

 

JoJo Turnbeaugh

16. JoJo Turnbeaugh
KWBL/Denver
Regional Senior VP/Programming 
Denver Region
iHeartMedia
jojoturnbeaugh@iheartmedia.com
38 years in radio
10 years programming Country

 

RCA’s Dennis Reese with Kane Brown and David Corey

17. David Corey
WKLB/Boston
Beasley Media Group
david.corey@bbgi.com
30 years in radio
2 years programming Country 

 

 

Kassi Ashton and Drew Bland

18. Drew Bland 
KKWF/Seattle
Entercom 
drew@seattlewolf.com 
15 years in radio
11 years programming Country

 

Tee Gentry and Chris Janson

19. Tee Gentry
WKXC-FM/Augusta, GA
Beasley Media
tee.gentry@bbgi.com
30 years in radio 
25 years programming Country

 

Miranda Lambert and Cindy Spicer

20. Cindy Spicer
Program Director 
WFUS-FM/Tampa
iHeartMedia
cindyspicer@iheartmedia.com
30 years in radio
8 years programming Country

 

John E Kage

21. John E. Kage
KYGO/Denver
Bonneville
jkage@kygo.com
25 years in radio
2 years programming Country

 

In front (l-r) KRTY’s Tina Ferguson, Julie Stevens, and Jamie Jackson

 

22. Julie Stevens 
KRTY/San Jose, CA
Empire Broadcasting
jstevens@empirebroadcasting.com 
40 years in radio
35 years programming Country

 

Chris Stapleton and MoJoe Roberts

23. MoJoe Roberts
Country Format Captain
PD, KUPL (The Bull)/Portland; KDES/Palm Springs, CA; and WXCL/Peoria, IL
Alpha Media
joe.roberts@alphamediausa.com
23 years in radio 

 

Fletch Brown (center)

24. M. Fletcher Brown 
WXFL-FM/Florence, AL
Big River Broadcasting
fletch@kix96country.com
21 years in radio 
13 years programming Country

 

Tosh Jackson and Jimmie Allen

25. Tosh Jackson 
KNTY (101.9 The Wolf)/Sacramento
Entravision 
tjackson@entravision.com
21 years in radio
9 years programming Country

 

Jesse Garcia

26. Jesse Garcia
WBYT (B100)/South Bend, IN
Federated Media
jesse@b100.com
34 years in radio.
25 years programming country music

 

Mike Shamus

27. Mike Shamus
WKOA/Lafayette, IN
Neuhoff Media
mikeshamus@neuhoffmedia.com
24 years in radio
13 years programming Country

 

Randy Brooks

28. Randy Brooks
KIXQ-FM/Joplin, MO
Zimmer Radio
randy@zrimarketing.com
30 years in radio
8 years programming Country

 

John Kimmons and Darryl Worley

29. John Kimmons 
KOMG (105.1 The Bull), Springfield, MO
Midwest Family Broadcasting 
johnkimmons@thebull1051.com
29 years in radio
5 years programming Country

 

Jess Jennings

30. Jess Jennings
WCKN-FM/Charleston, SC
Charleston Radio Group
8 years in radio
2 years programming Country

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here