2017 CBA Awards Of Excellence Handed Out


On Saturday, March 10, the Colorado Broadcasters Association hosted its annual Awards of Excellence Gala. For the first time ever, high school and college students who created outstanding works for school radio and/or television programs were recognized with the “Future Broadcasters Award.” Stu Haskell was presented with the Rex Howell Broadcaster of the Year award, honoring exceptional leadership, for which he was nominated by his peers. CNN Newsroom anchor Ana Cabrera was the keynote speaker.

Nerf of KTCL/Denver “Metro Market Station of the Year,” Chris Kelly of Reel World,“ holding the Rex Howell Broadcaster of the Year for Stu Haskell, who was unable to attend. And Big Rob of KSME/Ft. Collins “Major Market Station of the Year.”

One station in each market was also named “Station of the Year” based on its total number of Awards of Excellence (first-place entries) and Certificates of Merit (second-place entries).

The 2017 “Stations of the Year” are:

  • Medium Market: KPVW-FM, Aspen

    KPVW/Aspen is CBA’s first Spanish-language Station of the Year in a Medium Market winner.

• Major Market: KSME-FM, Fort Collins

• Metro Denver: KTCL-FM, Denver

KTCL/Denver crew with “Metro Market Station of the Year”, a first for KTCL.





For an entire list of the 2017 Awards of Excellence winners, visit http://www.coloradobroadcasters.org/awards-of-excellence/


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here