2018 Medallas De Cortez Winners Announced


The 2018 winners of the Medallas de Cortez Awards were announced Tuesday at the annual Hispanic Radio Conference in Miami. The happy winners — seen here with Radio Ink Publisher Deborah Parenti (l) and Jinny Laderer, CEO of Medallas sponsor vCreative (r) represent an array of industry-leading broadcasters, including Lotus Communications (whose president, Jim Kalmenson, took Broadcaster of the Year honors), Spanish Broadcasting System, Univision, Entravision, and iHeartMedia. The Medallas de Cortez are the only awards dedicated to honoring excellence in Hispanic radio, and the awards ceremony is an annual highlight of the conference.

Kalmenson said, “The first thing I learned when I entered Latino marketing was the basic idea that Latinos are fearful and averse to participating in research. However, today that has changed. Today, Latinos are no longer fearful, now they are petrified! As a result the Hispanic-dominant audience, who is the heaviest user of Spanish radio, is severely under-represented in audience research samples. Our research suggests that Spanish radio ratings underestimate true listening levels by 25-35 percent.”

2018 Medallas de Cortez Winners

Marketer of the Year
Vladimir Gomez, Spanish Broadcasting System

Local Personality of the Year
Ruben Sanchez, WKAQ-AM/Puerto Rico

Syndicated or National Personality of the Year
Oswaldo Diaz, Erazno Y La Chokolata,  Entravision

Program Director of the Year
Jammin Johnny Caride, WXDJ-FM/Miami-Ft. Lauderdale, FL

Sales Manager of the Year
Ericka Aguilar, KCMT-FM/Tucson, AZ

General Manager of the Year
Hector Marcano, WRUM-FM/Orlando-Jacksonville-Tampa, FL

Station of the Year
KLNO-FM/Dallas-Ft. Worth, TX

Broadcaster of the Year
Jim Kalmenson, Lotus Communications


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here