WUSF/Tampa Bay Wins Statewide Awards


Among the honors the NPR station won in the competition run by the Florida Chapter of the Society of Professional Journalists, was the coveted Anchor of the Year prize. That honor went to All Things Considered host Lisa Peakes (pictured), at the 23rd Annual Sunshine State Awards announced Saturday night in Miami.

WUSF’s Steve Newborn, Mary Shedden, and Robin Sussingham received top honors in the Government and Politics Reporting category for their work on a series about the I-4 corridor and the 2016 presidential election. The project was a collaboration with WMFE in Orlando. And former WUSF intern Quincy Walters won first place in the Feature Reporting category for his story about a former circus showman living in Gibsonton. The news team earned three additional awards in the radio and online journalism divisions that honored work done in 2016.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here