Congratulations ABC News


The RTDNA handed out its prestigious Edward R. Murrow awards last night in Washington, DC. 103 awards in 13 categories were given out from more than 4,300 entries, an all-time record number of entries for the fourth year in a row. ABC News Radio won the top honor for Overall Excellence in Radio, Breaking News- Radio and Hard News- Radio. Vice President for ABC Radio Steve Jones accepted the award and here’s what he had to say.

“It’s an honor for ABC News Radio to be recognized by our peers for the excellence of our work. We are deeply appreciative of the support we receive every day under James Goldston’s leadership and from all of our ABC colleagues, particularly those here tonight. Despite the radio industry’s direction towards consolidation, two years ago, James supported ABC Radio in separating from our then distributor so that we could have complete control of our brand and our business. You know, ABC does not own any radio stations so to launch with one-thousand stations in January 2015 was a feat in itself. And, through great support from ABC News and the dedication of our staff to providing our affiliates and listeners the most comprehensive news, sports and entertainment programming, ABC News Radio reaches more Americans than any other commercial radio news provider and we are proudly serving over fifteen-hundred radio stations, two of which are being honored here tonight: Hearst’s WBAL/Baltimore and Scripps’ KFDI/Wichita. Congratulations to them and thank you for this Overall Excellence award.”

Here’s a list of all the winners from 2016.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here