Fritts To Be Honored With Lowry Mays Award At NAB


Eddie Fritts has been announced as the recipient of the 2016 Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award. The award will be presented at the Broadcasters Foundation of America annual breakfast at 7 a.m., Wednesday, April 20, in the Brahms Room of the Encore Hotel during the National Association of Broadcasters’ (NAB) Show in Las Vegas. The Lowry Mays Excellence in Broadcasting Award is bestowed annually on an individual in broadcasting whose work exemplifies innovation, community service, advocacy, and entrepreneurship. It salutes its namesake Lowry Mays and is underwritten by The Mays Family Foundation.

After 23 years as President and Chief Executive Officer of NAB, Fritts launched The Fritts Group in March 2006, providing strategic counsel to various telecommunications companies. He received the Broadcaster of the Year Award at both the New York State Broadcasters Association and the Pennsylvania Association of Broadcasters, and he is the past recipient of the Broadcasters Foundation’s Golden Mike and Chairman’s Award. In 2010, he was inducted into the Giants of Broadcasting’s Hall of Fame, and in 2011 he received the Distinguished Service Award from the NAB. Fritts has been inducted into the Broadcasting & Cable Hall of Fame and honored with Lifetime Achievement Awards from Radio and Records Magazine, Television Week, and The National Association of Media Brokers.

The Broadcasters Foundation Breakfast is complimentary to all.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here