The 2016 Medallas de Cortez Finalists


Radio Ink is pleased to announce this year’s finalists for the prestigious Medallas de Cortez, the only awards dedicated to honoring the very best in Hispanic radio. The Medallas de Cortez awards are named in honor of Raoul Cortez, founder of the first Spanish-language radio station in the United States, KCOR/San Antonio, in 1946. Raoul Cortez was a visionary for his time and a legend for all times in the annals of Hispanic radio.

Radio Ink Publisher Deborah Parenti said, “The Medallas de Cortez awards represent a celebration of Hispanic radio and those who bring it to life every day. Whether streaming or on air, on the street, or in the hallways of stations across the country, these dedicated professional make Hispanic radio an intimate part of the lives of listeners and clients. We are extremely proud to be able to provide this well earned recognition every year.”

The awards will be presented at the Hispanic Radio Conference, March 22-23 in Fort Lauderdale. Don’t miss this always-moving presentation.

The 2016 Medallas de Cortez Awards Finalists

Local Personality of the Year
Richie Herrera, WNNW/Boston
Eric Johnson, WYMY/Greensboro-Winston Salem-Raleigh
Eduardo Cobos, WNTA-AM/Rockford, IL
Jenny Castillo, WRUM-FM/Orlando, FL
Rosie Barerra, KPZA-FM/Hobbs, NM

Syndicated/National Personality of the Year
Dr. Cesar Lozano
Stephanie “Chiquibaby” Himonidis
Alex Lucas
Alex Sensation

Program Director of the Year
Juan Gonzalez, WNNW/Boston
Tony Guerrero, KPZA-FM/Hobbs, NM
Arturo Sosa, WSKQ-FM/New York
Jammin’ Johnny Caride, WXDJ-FM/Miami-Ft Lauderdale
Al Sanchez, WXNY/New York City
Julie Garza, WYMY/Greensboro-Raleigh

Sales Manager of the Year
Gretchien Pujals, WYUU-FM/Tampa-St. Petersburg
Aaron Forrister, KPZA-FM/Hobbs, NM
Juan Navarro, KLYY-FM/Los Angeles
Javier Martinez, KWMC/Del Rio, TX
Barbara Carreon, Univision/San Antonio

General Manager of the Year
Deborah Metros, WNNW/Boston
Javier A. Ortiz, KQRT/KRRN/Las Vegas
Mariela Mea, WNMA-AM/Miami
Kevin O’Rorke, KLBN/Fresno
Mike Paterson, WNTA-AM/Rockford, IL
Harry Harlan, KPZA-FM/Hobbs, NM

Station of the Year
WVXX/Norfolk-Virginia Beach
WNTA-AM/Rockford, IL
WSKQ-FM/New York

Broadcaster of the Year
Eric Garcia, Spanish Broadcasting System
Norberto Sanchez, Norsan Media
Alfredo Plascencia, Lazer Broadcasting
Chris McMurray, Davidson Media Group
Jose Villafane, Entravision Solutions

URGENT: The special hotel block reserved for the conference is nearly sold out. Book soon, or risk paying full Florida rates in the prime tourist season. Don’t miss out! Click here to book your room now.

The Hispanic Radio Conference, March 22-23 in Fort Lauderdale, is the only conference dedicated solely to Hispanic radio. Now in its 7th year, the conference attracts the industry’s key leadership in management, sales, and programming, whose combined audience reaches approximately 95% of the 50+ million Hispanics in this country.

Register today!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here