Smyth To Receive Lifetime Leadership Award


We are pleased to announce that former Greater Media CEO Peter Smyth is the recipient of Radio Ink‘s 2018 Lifetime Leadership Award. The award is presented as part of the annual Radio Ink Forecast summit, held at the Harvard Club in New York City. Forecast this year will be held on November 14.

Radio Ink Publisher Deborah Parenti said, “Peter Smyth is someone who has ‘walked the talk’ throughout his distinguished career, both as a broadcaster and a humanitarian. It’s an honor to present him with the Radio Ink Lifetime Leadership Award for his many accomplishments and contributions to the industry he as made over ‘Act One’ of his career. Knowing Peter, this is only intermission time and we look forward to the second act he no doubt will still write.”

As CEO of Greater Media, from 2003 to 2016, Smyth oversaw the company’s 21 radio stations in Boston, Charlotte, Detroit, Philadelphia, and New Jersey. The company was sold to Beasley Media Group in 2016, the year Greater Media turned 60 years old.

Peter Smyth pictured here with Beasley Media CEO Caroline Beasley

Smyth began his career in broadcasting in 1977 as an account executive with WROR-FM in Boston. He was quickly promoted to General Sales Manager, a position he held for the next five years. In 1983, RKO General, the parent company of WOR, recruited him to serve as GSM of its New York stations, where he directed the company’s sales operations until his departure in 1986 to work at Greater Media. Smyth worked in many important positions at Greater Media over the years, including General Manager of WMJX-FM in Boston, Vice President of the Radio Group, and Chief Operating Officer.

In 2005 and 2011, Smyth was recognized by Radio Ink as America’s Best Broadcaster. In addition, over the past decade, he’s been recognized as one of Radio Ink’s 40 Most Powerful People in Radio, ranking among the top 10. In 2007, he was named Radio Ink‘s Radio Executive of the Year, an award that honors top executives who exemplify the values that are vital to the growth and success of radio.

Smyth with Heidi Raphael to his left, his wife to his right and Radio Ink Publisher Deborah Parenti.

In the past, Smyth has served as chairman of the Radio Advertising Bureau’s board of directors, president of the New England Media Association, and as elected member of the board of directors of the National Association of Broadcasters.





Previous Lifetime Leadership Award recipients are:
Ralph Guild
Lowry Mays
Gary Fries and Eddie Fritts
Gordon Hastings
Bill Burton
Ed McLaughlin
Jerry Lee
Dick Clark, Frances Preston
Jim Thompson
Charles Warfield
Dan Mason
Cathy Hughes
Bruce Reese


  1. Peter Smyth is most deserving to be recognized with the Lifetime Achievement Award. I’ve known peter since his first days at WROR and know him to be a true leader, a professional in every sense of the word. Peter’s time has come for recognition for all he has accomplished as a man who leads by example.

    Congratulations Peter!


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here