Current Issue:

Current Issue

On The Cover:
Cumulus Chairman Jeff Marcus

Click here to subscribe to Radio Ink.

Radio Ink Writers

Sillerman, Ferguson, Dille Among Six to Receive Broadcasters Award

February 16, 2010 –

The Broadcasters Foundation of America announced the recipients of the 2011 Ward L. Quaal Pioneer Awards, which will be presented at the Foundation’s annual breakfast on April13 at the Wynn Hotel during the National Association of Broadcasters (NAB) Show in Las Vegas. The Pioneer Awards are given annually in recognition of career contributions to the broadcast industry and the community at large, and are named in honor of iconic broadcaster Ward L. Quaal.

The Six to receive the award are: 
John Dille, President, Federated Media;
Andrew Fisher, President, Cox Television, Retired;
Richard Ferguson, Founder, New City Communications and Executive Vice President, Cox Radio, Retired;
Erwin Krasnow, Esq., Partner, Garvey Schubert Barer;
Robert F.X. Sillerman, the largest shareholder of CKX, Inc.
Dennis Swanson, President, Station Operations, Fox Television Stations, Inc.


The mission of the Broadcasters Foundation of America is to improve the quality of life and maintain the personal dignity of men and women in the radio and television broadcast profession who find themselves in acute need. The Foundation reaches out across the country to identify and provide an anonymous safety net in cases of critical illness, advanced age, death of a spouse, accident, and other serious misfortune. The Broadcasters Foundation of America is a 501(c)3 Public Charity.