Here Are The 2017 Best PDs In Country Radio

7

They are some of the most important names in Nashville, and across the Country radio fruited plain. They are on a first-name basis with country music’s biggest stars and Nashville’s most important executives. Why? Because radio is still the most important outlet for music to be played and heard, and the PDs on the pages that follow carry around the keys to the radio stations country music fans love most. The relationship between country stars, Country PDs, Country radio stations, and the country music fans is like none in any other format. If you’ve ever attended a Country Radio Seminar in Nashville, you know exactly what we mean. The stars mingle with the programmers, great relationships are formed, and a lot of artists and PDs talk or text on a regular basis.

And being one of the Best Country Program Directors is much more than mingling with the stars. A successful Country PD has to execute the format flawlessly in markets where there is typically more than one station competing for country fans. A successful Country PD has to have an ear for the music, and be willing to take chances on a new song or new artist. A successful Country PD has to nurture relationships with label executives in Nashville who now have more outlets than ever to get their music to the masses. And a successful Country PD must serve the local community, which is one of the hallmarks, along with strong ratings, of a consistently successful Country radio station. And over the past year, every one of the PDs on this list has succeeded at all of those things.

Here’s a look at the list as it was printed in the February 13, 2017 issue of Radio Ink Magazine.

shelly-eastonn1. Shelly Easton
WXTU/Philadelphia
CBS Radio
shelly.easton@cbsradio.com
Years in Radio: 30
Years Programming Country: 20

 

mike-brophey2. Mike Brophey
WKLB/Boston
Beasley Broadcast Group
mike.brophey@bbgi.com
Years in Radio: 43
Years Programming Country: 30

 

johnny-chiang-jana-kramer3. Johnny Chiang
KKBQ/Houston
Cox Media Group
johnny.chiang@coxinc.com
Years in Radio: 27
Years Programming Country: 12

 

tim-roberts-jason-aldeen4. Tim Roberts
WYCD/Detroit
CBS Radio
tim.roberts@cbsradio.com
Years in Radio: 39
Years at WYCD: 11

 

steve-stewart-cole-swindell5. Steve Stewart
WEBG-FM/Chicago
iHeartMedia
Twitter: @BigSteveRadio
Years in Radio: 29
Years in Country: 14

 

lisa-mckay-26. Lisa McKay-Blake
WQDR/Raleigh
Curtis Media
lmckay@curtismedia.com
Years in Radio: 35
Years at WQDR: 15

 

stevegeofferies2017-27. Steve Geofferies
KNIX-FM/Phoenix
iHeartMedia
stevegeofferies@iheartmedia.com
Years in Radio: 21
Years at KNIX: 3

 

tim-richards-and-chris-stapleton8. Tim Richards
KMLE/Phoenix
CBS Radio
timr@cbsradio.com
Years in Radio: 25
Years Programming Country: 4

 

meg-stevens-and-luke-bryan9. Meg Stevens
WMZQ-FM/Washington, DC
iHeartMedia
megstevens@iheartmedia.com
Years in Radio: 30
Years Programming Country: 20

 

greg-swedberg-and-dierks-bently10. Gregg Swedberg
KEEY-FM/Minneapolis-St. Paul
iHeartMedia
greggswedberg@iheartmedia.com
Years in Radio: 38
Years Programming KEEY: 24

 

dj-stout-111. DJ Stout
WSOC-FM/Charlotte
Beasley Media Group
donald.stout@bbgi.com
Years in Radio: 22
Years Programming Country: 12

 

jeff-garrison-and-taylor-swift-212. Jeff Garrison
KCYY-FM/San Antonio
Cox Media
jeff.garrison@coxinc.com
Years in Radio: 34
Years Programming Country: 27

 

bruce-logan13. Bruce Logan
KILT-FM/Houston
CBS Radio
bruce.logan@cbsradio.com
Years in Radio: 33, 25 as PD
Years Programming KILT: 3

 

charlie-cook-and-kelsea-ballerini-214. Charlie Cook
WSM-FM & WKDF-FM/Nashville
Cumulus Media
charlie.cook@cumulus.com
Years in Radio: 47
Years as a Programmer: 43

 

travis-daily-215. Travis Daily
WFUS-FM/Tampa Bay
iHeartMedia
travis@us1035.com
Years Programming Country: 20
Years at WFUS: 12

 

grover-collins-and-chris-stapleton16. Grover Collins
WUBE-FM/Cincinnati
Hubbard Radio
grover@b105.com
Years in Radio: 30
Years Programming Country: 27

 

gator-harrison17. Gator Harrison
WSIX-FM/Nashville
iHeartMedia
gatorharrison@iheartmedia.com
Years in Radio: 30+
Years Programming Country: 21

 

bob-barnett18. Bob Barnett
WBEE-FM/Rochester, NY
Entercom
bob.barnett@entercom.com
Years in Radio: 33
Years Programming Country: 29

 

drew-bland-with-locash19. Drew Bland
WWKA-FM/Orlando
Cox Media Group
drew.bland@coxinc.com
Years in Radio: 13
Years Programming Country: 10

 

kerry-wolfe20. Kerry Wolfe
WMIL/Milwaukee
iHeartMedia
kerrywolfe@iheartmedia.com
Years Programming Country: 32

 

 

SONY DSC

21. (tie) Mac Daniels
KPLX-FM and KSCS-FM/Dallas
Cumulus Media
mac.daniels@cumulus.com
Years in Radio: 40
Years Programming Country: 25

 

rob-morris21. (tie) Rob Morris
WKIS-FM/Miami
CBS Radio
rob.morris@cbsradio.com
Years in Radio: 33
Years Programming Country: 5

 

keny-jay22. Kenny Jay
KMPS/Seattle
CBS Radio
kenny@kmps.com
Years in Country Radio: 20

 

mark-anderson23. Mark Anderson
WDSY-FM/Pittsburgh
CBS Radio
mark.anderson@cbsradio.com
Years in Radio: 26
Years Programming Country: 7

 

scott-roddy24. Scott Roddy
WIL & WARH/St. Louis
Hubbard Radio
sroddy@hubbardradio.com
Years in Radio: 26
Years Programming Country: 5

 

julie-stevens-and-nate-deaton-225. Julie Stevens
KRTY-FM/San Jose, CA
Empire Broadcasting
jstevens@empirebroadcasting.com
Years in Radio: 28
Years at KRTY: 25

 

jon-riley26. Jon Reilly
WKLI-FM/Albany NY
Pamal Broadcasting
jreilly@albanybroadcasting.com
Years Programming Country: 11

 

fletch-brown-randy-houser27. Fletcher Brown
WXFL-FM & WLVS-FM/Florence, AL
Big River Broadcasting.
fletch@kix96country.com
Years in Radio: 20
Years Programming Country: 11

 

mark-mckay-and-garth-brooks28. Mark McKay
WGH-FM/Virginia Beach, VA
Max Media
mark@maxmediava.com
Years in Radio: 24
Years Programming Country: 15

 

tosh-jackson29. Tosh Jackson
KNTY-FM/Sacramento
Entravision
tjackson@entravision.com
Years in Radio: 19
Years Programming Country: 7

 

sue-wilson-230. Sue Wilson
WQMX/Akron, OH
Rubber City Radio Group
sue@wqmx.com
Years in Radio: 36

7 COMMENTS

  1. The volume of yohr monthly payments is only a paramester of the loan. This article aims to provide you with that information you are searching for.
    Keep these pointers in mind to get an expert when searching for a car.

  2. The 1990s, in terms of teen fashion, represented a combination of a whole large amount of different styles.
    Even essentially the most gigantic of corporations advertise their products,
    and for good reason. Amethyst can even be cleaned with water and soap,
    however make certain that the soap is in the highest quality.

  3. WTH happened to WXBQ people??????? Who compiled this????? They’ve been No. 1 in ratings for over 80 consecutive Arbitron ratings. I’m shocked & disappointed!!!!! To say the least.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here